COMMUNITY AND SOCIAL DEVELOPMENT

The mandate for the Directorate: Community and Social Development Services is derived from the Constitution of the Republic of South Africa (Act No. 108 of 1996) which provides that local government must, as part of its objectives, ensure the provision of services to communities in a sustainable manner; the promotion of a safe and healthy environment and the achievement of social development imperatives. The Directorate performs functions that are dedicated to the social and environmental well-being of the community. Part of the matters listed in schedule 4(b) and 5(b) of the Constitution are the primary responsibility of this Directorate. These include fire-fighting services, municipal health services, cemeteries, cleansing services, municipal parks amongst others.

The functional responsibilities of the Directorate are:

  • Emergency Services
  • Library Services
  • Motor Licensing and Registration Services
  • Parks and Recreation
  • Primary Health Care Services (Clinics)
  • Traffic Services
  • Waste Management and Environmental Health
     
​Contact Details

Khuza Bogacwi
Executive Director
053-8306609

Email: kbogacwi@solplaatje.org.za

Annelle Swart
PA: Executive Director
053-8306251
Email: aswart@solplaatje.org.za  

Tinus Pretorius
Manager: Emergency Services
Tel: 053-8306277    
Email: mpretorius@solplaatje.org.za       

Fritz van Dyk        
Manager: Library Services
Tel: 053-8306241     
Email: fvandyk@solplaatje.org.za 

Deon Moeti
Manager: Motor Licensing and Registration
Tel: 053-8306053
Email: dmoeti@solplaatje.org.za

Tumi Maropong
Manager: Parks and Recreation
Tel: 053-8306624
Email: tmaropong@solplaatje.org.za 

Esther Christopher
Manager: Primary Health Care Services
053-8306600
Email: echristopher@solplaatje.org.za

Chris Langford
Manager: Traffic Services 
Tel: 053-8306373
Email: clangford@solplaatje.org.za

Keith Williams         
Manager: Waste Management and Environmental Health        
Tel: 053-8306605     
Email: kwilliams@solplaatje.org.za